The Van Buren Pointers are picked by coaches to finish seventh in the 7A West and the coaches of the 5A West expect Alma to win the league in the 2016 edition of the Hooten’s Arkansas Football Magazine now on sale.

Van Buren and Alma open the season on Aug. 30 (at Tuesday night) at Airedale Stadium at Citizens Bank Field.

Mountainburg is picked by the 2A-4 coaches to finish third while Cedarville is selected to place seventh in the 4-3A. Mountainburg hosts Cedarville on Sept. 2.

The book retails for $16.99 and is on sale now locally at Wal-Mart, Walgreens, Books-A-Million, Barnes & Noble, Harp’s and Flash Market.

The Press Argus-Courier will continue to run the Hooten’s Poll in each of its Wednesday editions during the football season.

Hooten’s high school favorites to win it all in 2016 are Fayetteville in Class 7A, Greenwood in Class 6A, Pulaski Academy in Class 5A, Nashville in Class 4A, Glen Rose in Class 3A and England in Class 2A.

The 448-page book, which takes more than five months to compile, offers the most comprehensive preseason football coverage in Arkansas. Homegrown Hogs Drew Morgan and Brooks Ellis grace the cover.

In addition to providing extensive coverage of every high school team in the state, the book offers an in-depth preview on the Razorbacks and coverage on each Southeastern Conference school. Arkansas State and every state college are previewed as well as all 128 Division I college teams in America.

The graphically enhanced book features coaches’ polls for each high school conference, statewide rankings for every team, super teams for each classification, a national college poll and complete college and high school schedules.

Alabama is tabbed to win the SEC West, followed by LSU, Ole Miss, Arkansas, Auburn, Mississippi State and Texas A&M. Georgia is picked to win the SEC Eastern Division, followed by Tennessee, Florida, Kentucky, Missouri, South Carolina and Vanderbilt.

Arkansas State is ranked first in the Sun Belt and 60th nationally.

The Florida State Seminoles are Hooten’s preseason No. 1 team, followed by Alabama, Clemson, Stanford and Michigan.

Henderson State is picked to win the Great American Conference, followed by Harding, Ouachita Baptist, Southern Arkansas and Southwestern Oklahoma State.

The book is published annually by Hooten Publishing, Inc., of Benton.