NORTH LITTLE ROCK — After successfully hosting three regional basketball tournaments since opening a new gym in 2005, Charleston superintendent Jeff Stubblefield said his school was ready to host the 3A State Tournament.

The Arkansas Activities Association’s Board of Directors agreed, awarding the 3A tournament to Charleston during the 2014 tournament site selection meeting Thursday.

"I am glad the AAA had confidence in us and recognized that we had the capability to host a state tournament," Stubblefield said. "The board members have heard good things about our school hosting regionals and knew of our desire to host a state tournament."

Stubblefield said Charleston hosting the event will be good for the surrounding area as well.

"With Fort Smith nearby, teams can use their hotels, restaurants and tourist attractions," Stubblefield added.

Charleston was the only school that posted a bid for the 3A Tournament until Hoxie submitted a last-second bid last week. But Charleston still won the vote.

"I have been to several regionals there and they have excellent facilities," AAA Executive Director Lance Taylor said. "I think people will enjoy playing there because it is nice. They have great hospitality and there will be plenty of parking. I think people will enjoy the tournament there."

Alma won the 5A tournament by default since no other school bid on the tournament.

The state basketball tournament sites that were also selected by the board on Thursday included Jonesboro (6A), Lonoke (4A), Hampton (2A) and Harrison’s North Arkansas Community College (A). Though the 7A was listed as no bid because of North Little Rock’s withdrawal, the AAA staff is expected to award the 7A tournament to Conway today.

Regional tournament hosts for conferences involving local schools included Lincoln for the 4A-North, Elkins for 3A-1, Eureka Springs for the 2A-West and Lead Hill for A-1.

The board awarded baseball state tournament sites to North Little Rock (7A), Jacksonville (5A), Nashville (4A), Bergman (3A), Woodlawn (2A) and Mountain Home (A). Benton submitted a late bid for 6A, but the board refused it and the AAA staff will search for a site.

Lincoln was given the 4A-North Regional baseball tournament while Lavaca will host the 3A-1, Bigelow got the 2A-West while Harrison was chosen for the A-1.

Conway will host 7A Softball State Tournament while others sites were awarded to Benton (6A), Jacksonville (5A), Monticello (4A), Harrison (3A), Marked Tree (2A) and Mountain Home (A).

Mena will host the 4A-North Regional softball tourney while Lavaca gets the 3A-1, no bid for 2A-West (Bigelow submitted a late bid) and Scranton will host the A-1.

Fayetteville (boys) and Bentonville (girls) will share the 7A Soccer State Tournament. Russellville (6A), Harrison (5A) and Central Arkansas Christian (4A) were also awarded tournaments.

The state championships for baseball, softball and soccer will be hosted by Fayetteville using the facilities of the University of Arkansas.

In track, state meet sites will be Cabot (7A), Russellville (6A), Harrison (5A), Nashville (4A), Morrilton (3A) and Alpena (A). There was no bid for 2A. Russellville will also host the Meet of Champions while Cabot will host the Decathlon and Heptathlon.

Next fall, cross country will be hosted by Lake Hamilton and the meet will be at Oaklawn Park in Hot Springs.

Summit Arena in Hot Springs will host the state volleyball championships next fall and was chosen over several bids, including Mena and Fayetteville. State volleyball sites include Fayetteville (7A), Mountain Home (6A), Valley View (5A), Lonoke (4A) and Bergman (3A).