FAYETTEVILLE — Former Arkansas running back Nate Holmes has transferred to McNeese State.

The school announced Wednesday that Holmes was one of three transfers enrolled in classes this semester. Two of them came are from Southeastern Conference schools. Holmes joins former Mississippi State running back Derrick Milton.

Holmes left Arkansas after a sophomore season in which he had six carries for 17 yards. He was the Razorbacks’ primary punt returner as a freshman in 2012, averaging 6.4 yards an attempt.

McNeese State, which is a Football Championship Subdivision school located in Lake Charles, La., went 10-3 last season. It included a 31-10 loss in the FCS playoffs.

Holmes is one of four players who left the Razorbacks after the 2012 season, joining cornerback Ray Buchanan, Jr., and linebackers A.J. Turner and Myke Tavarres. Turner has transferred to Arkansas State, according to Scout.com. Buchanan, Jr., said earlier this month via Twitter he has transferred to Northern Iowa.

Pierce rescinds commitment to Hogs

FAYETTEVILLE — Plantation (Fla.) High tight end Ravian Pierce is no longer committed to Arkansas.

Pierce announced his decision via Twitter Wednesday morning with a simple message: "Sorry but I’m decommiting."

Pierce made a verbal commitment to Arkansas last October. He was one of the highest-rated prospects committed to Arkansas for its 2014 class. Pierce was rated as a four-star prospect on a five-star scale by Scout.com.

The Razorbacks were hoping Pierce would help a group of tight ends that includes sophomore Hunter Henry, who earned freshman All-America honors after finishing second on the team in receiving last season. Arkansas now has one tight end among its 2014 verbal commitments - Bentonville High’s Jack Kraus.

Arkansas has 19 verbal commitments for 2014. National signing day is Feb. 5.