Recap of Crawford County Speedway racing results from April 8.

Gans’ Billy Wheeler won his second straight race of the season as he won the Grand National feature race at Crawford County Speedway on Saturday.

Robert Southerland placed second in as many starts this year. Southerland was 17th out of 21 cars in the opening week and did not race the last two features.

Jamison English was third for the second consecutive week and Danny Evans debuted at fourth.

Thurman Blanton grabbed his fourth Top 5 finish of the year as he placed fifth.

CCS is hosting another round of racing on April 15 with free Easter baskets for every child and an egg hunt with “thousands of eggs filled with candy and lucky eggs filled with money.”


Cedarville’s Dalton McKenzie won his first feature race in three starts. McKenzie was the runner-up in his previous races including last week’s finish behind Shannon Weese.

Weese was runner-up this week and is only one of two drivers in the A Modified who has not missed a race this young season.

Jesse Leamons is the other driver with perfect attendance. He finished eighth after placing a season-high fifth last week.

The A Modified class saw four new drivers with Larry Bratti grabbing the highest finish of the new crew. Dallas Bourland was fourth and another newcomer, Jason Foster, was fifth.


Muskogee’s Dustin Leatherman won his second race in as many starts. Leatherman is making effective use of his driving at CCS as he had only two starts at the dirt track north of Van Buren but has won twice.

Last week’s winner, Travis Jewell of Cedarville was runner-up and Stephan Palmer was third.

Van Buren’s Eric Waterbury placed fourth to grab his second Top 5 finish of the season.

Brian Murray made his 2017 CCS debut to place fifth.


Alma’s J.P. Gregory won his first feature race of the season after finishing fourth last week.

Johnny Gregory, also of Alma, grabbed his third runner-up finish of the year. Johnny Gregory has one win back on March 25.

Michael Denton, who won last week, was third. Denton won the first race of the season and was third the following week. He repeated the same pattern the next two weeks.

Travis Boyster and Jeremy Boyster were fourth and fifth respectively.


Alma’s Remington Watson won his first start as he clinched the Street Stock feature. Watson has four Top 5 finishes since the start of the season and finished runner-up twice.

Clinton Drummond was second for the second time in three starts. Rick Craig nabbed third followed by Dale Pace and Cedarville’s Will Lamproe.


Barling’s Chris Tuck returned to the victory lap to grab his second win of the season. Tuck had back-to-back runner-up finishes.

Corey Howell had his highest finish in four weeks as he took second and last week’s winner, Dakota Stogsdill of Rudy was third. Harley McNatt took fourth followed by Shynia Drummond.

Crawford County Speedway

Results for April 8, 2017

Grand National — 1, Billy Wheeler; 2, Robert Southerland; 3, Jamison English; 4, Danny Evans; 5, Thurman Blanton; 6, Bobby Henson; 7, Ryan Verdier; 8, Clifton Drummond; 9, Ronnie Lingo; 10, Jess Sims; 11, Steve Riddle.

Modified B — 1, Dustin Leatherman; 2, Travis Jewell; 3, Stephan Palmer; 4, Eric Waterbury, 5; Brian Murray, 6, Robert Leamons; 7, John Garner; 8, Tim Edens; 9, Bobby Murray; 10, Gaylord Ace; 11, Devin Foster.

Street Stock —1, Remington Watson; 2, Clinton Drummond; 3, Rick Craig; 4, Dale Pace; 5, Will Lamproe; 6, Jesse Garner; 7, Bobby Mulkey; 8, Cody Collingsworth; 9, Chris Beard; 10, Duane Rose; 11, Mark Jones.

A Modified — 1, Dalton McKenzie; 2, Shannon Weese; 3, Larry Bratti; 4, Dallas Bourland; 5, Jason Foster; 6, Mark Eusery; 7, Dylan Coughran; 8, Jesse Leomons; 9, Charles Shavalier; 10, John Montgomery.

Mini Stock — 1, J.P. Gregory; 2, Johnny Gregory; 3, Michael Denton; 4, Travis Boyster; 5, Jeramie Boyster; 6, Stan Lewis; 7, Mike Davis.

Front Wheel Drive — 1, Chris Tuck; 2, Corey Howell; 3, Dakota Stogsdill; 4, Harley McNatt; 5, Shynia Drummond; 6, Frank Jackson; 7, Kim Wheeler; 8, Wesley Mackey; 9, Aaron Dyer; 10, Charles Bentley; 11, Shannon Howell.