A runoff election will be held in three weeks for one contested Van Buren School Board position.

Though the incumbents led for both positions that were up for vote in the Van Buren School Board Election on Tuesday, no candidate vying for Position 6 received a majority of the votes.

For Position 6, incumbent Jeff Lambert received 248 votes, or 44.21 percent of votes cast. Candidate J.R. McPhate received 188 votes, or 33.51 percent, while Mary Jo Weidman received 125 votes, or 22.28 percent.

Since no candidate was in the majority, a runoff will be held in three weeks between the two candidates with the highest number of votes, Lambert and McPhate.

For Position 7, incumbent J. Kevin Bell received 315 votes, or 55.17 percent of the votes cast and was elected to the position.

Dennis Pendergrass received 160 votes for Position 7, or 28.02 percent of votes cast, and Derald W. Porter received 96 votes, or 16.81 percent.

In addition, voters renewed the Van Buren millage at 39.6, with 444 votes in its favor and 118 against it.

Mountainburg, Alma and Cedarville all had a Position 1 seat up for election this year. Each seat had incumbents who went uncontested.

Karen Patrick-Walker was re-elected to the Mountainburg seat, Nancy G. Hawking to the Alma seat and Robert L. Neal to the Cedarville seat.

School board position terms are five years.