Two candidates in the Alma mayoral race will face each other in a run-off election Nov. 25 as no one was able to secure 50 percent of the vote.

Former representative Ed Thicksten and retired businessman Keith Greene will face off for Alma mayor’s seat in three weeks.

With votes counted from four of the five Alma precincts at press time, Thicksten and Greene were head to head. Greene was leading with 637 votes (46.5 percent) and Thicksten had 590 votes (43 percent).

Alma’s third mayoral candidate, Alderman Gary Perry trailed with 143 votes (10 percent). John L. Ware ran unopposed for Perry’s Ward 3, Position 1 seat in Alma.

Candidates must have 50 percent of the vote plus one vote to be considered a clear winner.

Thicksten, 67, is seeking his first term as mayor of Alma. He is a lifelong resident of Alma and was a state representative for the area for 24 years, completing his service in the Arkansas General Assembly in 1999.

Thicksten is president of Thicksten Enterprises, which includes the Alma Dry Cleaners and Thicksten Farms.

Greene, 72, also is seeking his first term as mayor and has been a resident of Alma for more than 30 years.

Greene retired from poultry sales in 2008 after 43 years in the business, first working in administration for three major companies and then as an independent sales contractor and corporate pilot.

For the last 11 years, before retiring in 2008, Greene was at the helm of his own company, EMA Foods Co. Inc., with offices in Atlanta, Ga., Enterprise, Ala., Tupelo, Miss., Turlock, Calif., and Alma.

Run-off elections will take place in two other Crawford County cities, Cedarville and Dyer, with all votes reported for those precincts.

In Cedarville, Mayor Glenanna O’Mara received 213 votes (48.9 percent) and Darren Langley received 131 votes (30 percent), while Wayne Bentley trailed with 92 votes (21.1 percent).

In Dyer, Billy Gale Morse received 129 votes (49.8 percent) and James Lemieux received 94 votes (36.3 percent), while Richard Leakey trailed with 36 votes (13.9 percent).

Two cities had clear winners, with all precincts reporting.

Mulberry Mayor Gary Baxter beat out his opponent Herman Luper, receiving 384 votes (77 percent) to Luper’s 115 votes (23 percent).

Neal Moon beat out five other opponents to become mayor of Mountainburg. Moon received 76 votes (45.7 percent), while Michael Harrison received 30 votes (18 percent), Bobby Dean 25 votes (15 percent), Scott Dyer 18 votes (10.8 percent), Mayor Ralph Bryant 9 votes (5 percent) and Douglas Coleman 8 votes (4.8 percent.)

Run-off elections will be held Nov. 25. Election results are not official until confirmed by the Election Commission.