The staff of the Press Argus-Courier received awards at the 2013 Arkansas Press Association’s Better Newspaper contest Saturday.

Awards were presented in Eureka Springs as part of APA’s 2013 SuperConvention.

The Press Argus-Courier received first place in the Coverage of Politics category for stories by editor Kenneth Fry and staff member Taniah Tudor. "Strong writing with good leads," the judges wrote.

Sports editor George "Clay" Mitchell earned a first-place award for Best Sports page. "Good story variety," the judges stated.

Other awards for Press Argus-Courier newsroom staff members include:

• Fry and Tudor received third place for In-Depth Series Reporting for "Van Buren sales tax proposed."

• Fry won honorable mention for "Trooper involved in fatal shooting."

• Fry received third place in Headline Writing for "Leapster celebrates."

• Fry received honorable mention for Single News Photograph for "Firefighters funeral."

• Mitchell won honorable mention for Single Sports Feature Photograph for "Checking in."

• Fry got honorable mention for Best Front Page.

• Fry received third place for Best Features Page.

• The staff of Jenny McClure, Fry, Tudor and Mitchell received honorable mention in Best Special Issue/Section for Babe Ruth World Series.

• Fry and Tudor received third place for Coverage of Education.

• Karenne Saylor received third place in Freelance Writing for "Brandenburg Booksellers."

Members of the Texas Press Association selected winners from 1,027 entries from 26 daily newspapers and 1,051 entries from 36 weekly newspaper.

The Arkansas Press Association was founded in 1873 to serve Arkansas and its weekly and daily newspapers.