President Obama on Monday issued a federal disaster declaration for 13 Arkansas counties, including Crawford County, affected by a severe winter storm on Dec. 5 and 6.

The disaster declaration also includes Franklin, Johnson, Logan, Madison, Marion, Newton, Polk, Scott, Searcy, Sebastian, Sharp and Van Buren counties.

The declaration makes federal funding available to state and local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the storm.

Federal funding also is available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide, according to a White House news release.

Gov. Mike Beebe last month requested a federal disaster declaration for 15 counties. Independence and Montgomery counties were included in his request but were not included in Monday’s declaration.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency is continuing to conduct damage surveys in other areas, and additional counties may be designated for assistance after the assessments are fully completed, the White House said Monday.