Early voting for the Van Buren School Board runoff election has begun.

A runoff election is being held Tuesday for Van Buren School Board Position 6. Vying for the position are J.R. McPhate and incumbent Jeff Lambert.

In the state-wide school board elections held Sept. 15, no candidate vying for Position 6 received a majority of the votes.

Lambert received 248 votes, or 44.21 percent of votes cast, while J.R. McPhate received 188 votes, or 33.51 percent of the votes.

A third candidate, Mary Jo Weidman, received 125 votes, or 22.28 percent of those cast.

Since no candidate was in the majority, a runoff was necessary to determine the winner.

Early voting is now through Friday, Oct. 2, and also on Monday, Oct. 5, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. at the Crawford County Emergency Operations Center at 1820 Chestnut St. in Van Buren.

On Tuesday, polls will be open from 7:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.

Polling sites for Van Buren School District on election day are: VB 1-1, VB 2-1 and VB 3-2, Crawford County Emergency Operations Center; VB 1-2, Crawford County Extension Office; VB 1-3, Jasper and Dora, Rena Road Church of Christ; VB 2-2, Pleasant Valley Church of Christ; VB 3-1, Van Buren Public Library; VB 3-3, New Life Pentecostal Church of God; VB 3-4, City Heights Methodist Church; VB 3-5, Living Word Baptist Church; VB 3-6, St. Michael’s Catholic Church; VB 4-1, Figure Five and Oliver Springs, Hope’s Creek Retirement Center; Kibler, Kibler United Methodist Church.