One-hundred seventeen Arkansas scholars from the 2013 graduating class of Van Buren High School will be honored at a banquet at 6:30 p.m. Tuesday in the Commons Area of VBHS.

Presenting sponsor will be Arkansas Tech University - Ozark Campus. Additional sponsors will be the Van Buren Chamber of Commerce, Summit Medical Center, Gregory Agency, Lumber One, Citizens Bank & Trust, Arvest Bank, Experian Consumer Direct, Bost and Press Argus-Courier.

Arkansas Scholars, started by the Arkansas Business and Education Alliance and sponsored by local chambers of commerce, is centered on academic achievement for a broad range of students. The students are asked to meet a set of criteria that will prepare them for both the workplace and additional education after high school.

One of the requirements of the program is a 95 percent attendance record for all four high school academic years.

"The banquet will honor students for their achievements and encourage them to continue to maintain their high standards that are demanded in the business world," said Brian Nave, chairman of the chamber’s education committee.

Van Buren Mayor Bob Freeman will be the guest speaker. Dr. Merle Dickerson, superintendent of the Van Buren School District, will congratulate the Arkansas scholars.

This year’s honorees will be:

Lori Adams, Dakota Amos, Alexander Ano, Andrew Asplund, Christopher Baldwin, Ashley Barker, Heather Bowman, Lane Breeden, Sean Bricker, Bryce Brown, Mariah Brown, Jenna Burnett, Alexa Burnside, Justin Carter, Raquel Castro, Savannah Cavender, Maria Chomphilath, Wacey Connor, Shaun Cormack, Shelby Cormack, Lauren Criswell, Miranda Croslin, Johnny Cruz, Alexi Cuevas-Herrera, Michael Dasso, Pollet Belgado-Martinez, Brittany Diaz, Rachel Dooley and Kacey Dougan.

Also, Katlyn Fergason, Cody Fink, Helena Fox, Casey Free, Connor Gardner, Lacy Gardner, David Gibbons, Davynn Gifford, Moses Gomez, Cassidy Graham, Roger Clayton Graham, Taylor Grill, Stephanie Guerra, Taylor Harmon, Allison Harrison, Tyler Harshbarger, Eli Hartley, Glenda Henriquez, Taylor Henson, William henson, Makayla Hill, Elizabeth Hilliard, Hayley Howard, Mason Hull, Julio Ibara, Ashley James, Colt James, Sarah Jenkins, Jessica King and Stephen King.

Also, Erin Lampinen, Jessica Lemus, Melissa Lewis, Theron Wendell Liles, James Lockhart, Cesar Lopez, Michael Lopez, Allison Luedloff, Rachel Mayo, Zackary McClain, Tia McCutchen, Andrew McKee, Zachery McKenna, Rebecca Melton, Jourdan Mendez, Anna Grace Mills, Joseph Mondier, Jordan moore, Logan Moore, Charles Neal, Miranda Newton, David Nichols, Alyssa Outhay, Milagrous Pacheco, Jennifer Parker, Hannah Patterson, Susana Peraza and Alex Phillips.

And, Marzady Phrakousonh, Collin Poole, Quinton Ray, Hunter Ryan, Kurt Wesley Savage, Shelby Sebastian, Jensen Smith, Jacob Smith, Jonah Smith, Luis Alberto Solis, Cassandra Spencer, Drake Stafford, Ambert Stephenson, Emily Sullivan, Lauren Tipton, Alleyah Tramel, Spencer Travis, Colton Tucker, Paige Turney, Charles Vongphith, Talon Wagoner, Morgan Walters, Willliam Walton, Sara White, Kinsey Williams, MacKenzie Williams, Faith Wilson, Shayne Wood, Coralee Young and Ashlee Zulch.