Nominations are now being accepted for the 2019 Iverson Riggs Citizen of the Year, to be awarded at the Van Buren Chamber of Commerce Annual Banquet in June. If you know an individual who has lived in Van Buren for 10 or more years, contributes value in leadership or education to our area, with significant personal accomplishments and actively participates in the community can be nominated. 

Past winners include:

Former Van Buren Mayor, Bob Freeman (2018)

Community Supporter, Debbie Faubus-Kendrick (2017)

Community Supporter, Debbie Foliart (2016)

Community Supporter, Lisa Huckelbury (2015)

Van Buren Boys & Girls Club Director, Cindy Faldon (2014)

Community Supporter, Jim Petty (2013)

Community Supporter, Kenneth Fry (2012)

Community Supporter, Mary Blount (2011)

Van Buren School District, Lonnie Myers (2010)

Community Supporter, Susan McCartt (2009)

Community Supporter / educator, Donna Parker (2008)

Community Supporters, Richard and Helen Hodo (2007)

Community Supporters, Ed and Shirley Yeager (2006)

Community Supporter, Alan Swaim (2005)

Community Supporter, Fred Williams (2004)

Van Buren Mayor, John Riggs (2003)

Community Volunteer, Debbie Thomas (2002)

Community Supporter, Cathy Gifford (2001)

Former State Senator, Morril Harriman (2000)

Realtor/Developer, Jimmy Bell (1999)

Business Leader and School Board Member, Dorvan Wiley (1998)

Former Van Buren Mayor, Allen Ray Toothaker (1997)

Former Retailer, Susan King Skillen (1996)

Developer, Dibrell Johnson (1995)

Retired Optometrist, Dr. Louis Peer (1994)

Realtor/Developer, Earl Robinson (1993)

Van Buren Advertising and Promotion Commission Chairman, Rusty Myers (1992)

Former Van Buren Mayor, Gene Bell (1991)

Banker and Businessman, Raymond Allen (1990)

Van Buren Boys/Girls Club Volunteer, Jimmy Lansdell (1989)

Retired Van Buren High School Football Coach, Clair Bates (1988)

Visit the chamber's website at for all the details and nomination form.

Nominations must be submitted before May 3, 2019 at 4:30pm.