Van Buren’s banking community is growing with the expected arrival this fall of a full-service Chambers Bank branch.

Ground was broken Tuesday for the branch, located at the corner of Highway 59 North and Northridge Drive.

“This is a really exciting time for our team and our region,” said Chambers Bank Western Division President Greg Rotter, who is also a resident of Van Buren. “The members of our staff here in Van Buren that we have already created are from here, they live here and are invested in this area. It’s really good to be coming to this market with the full service branch to serve the community.”

According to Chambers Bank officials the Van Buren branch will house traditional banking amenities like an ATM, teller services and drive-through banking, but will also feature updated technology and design to provide a concierge banking experience.

Construction is expected to begin this month with a projected completion in early fall.

Mike Donnell is the president of Chambers Bank, which is based in Danville. He said this new location is a good fit for the organization.

“We’ve got some locations in the Fort Smith area and have hired a group of people that are from this area,” he said. “We feel like this is a very good opportunity for us to expand our location and our asset size. The group we have has done a very good job in the area and we just hope we can continue to do that. We feel like this is a very good fit to take us on up the corridor to Northwest Arkansas.”

Rotter called Van Buren “a vibrant, thriving community,” adding, “we’re excited to expand our footprint in Crawford County.”

Chambers Bank opened a Loan Processing Office (LPO) in Van Buren in 2017. This new 4,500 square-foot facility was designed by DBSI of Chandler, Ariz.. Salter Construction Inc. of Conway will be the general contractor.

The new Van Buren location will become Chambers Bank’s 19th branch and the first full-service facility in Crawford County. Chambers Bank was founded in 1930 and currently operates 18 branches throughout Arkansas.