Lillie O. Aguilar has been named the AARP State Volunteer of the Year.

The Van Buren resident was presented the award by AARP Association State Director Lou Tobian at a dinner held at the University of Arkansas-Fort Smith's extension building.

The award comes with a monetary award for her favorite charity. She chose EHC River Belles from which it will be dispersed to her volunteer organizations: Crawford County EHC;  River Belles EHC; Women’s League of Van Buren; and AARP Chapter 5099 of Fort Smith.

Aguilar also volunteers at her church, First United Methodist in Ft. Smith, where she is a Sunday school teacher, Holy Grounds volunteer, Lay Reader and was a past Stephens Minister.

She sits on the Crawford County EHC Board as present vice president and immediate past president and is treasurer of River Belles EHC.

She is a member of the executive board of the Crawford County Fair and a fair superintendent and annually attends the Fair Managers Convention. She is AARP Hub Representative and Orientation Volunteer.

Speakers at the Dinner presentation were Van Buren Mayor Bob Freeman; Lou Tobian; EHC State President- Elect Cheryl Stewart; Larry Weir,who is on the  FUMC Board of Trustees; and Abigail Ford-Bey, AARP Chapter 5099 President.

On acceptance of her award Aguilar said her volunteer ethic came from her mother, Thereza G. Aguilar, and her example of volunteerism and community charity, which continued through each of her 4 siblings and now through the next generation.

She said the award will be used for “small blessings” in the community.