The Press Argus-Courier won eight Arkansas Press Association awards during the 2018 better newspaper editorial contest.

Awards were presented at the annual APA convention in Eureka Springs.

Press Argus-Courier Editor Kenneth Fry won the first-place award for single feature photograph.

“Great pose at an intent moment” judges commented of the first-place photograph of Van Buren attorney Lauren Clark working on an art project during a Leadership Crawford County session.

Fry and former reporter Taniah Tudor received first place for their coverage of tourism and a second-place award for coverage of business and agriculture.

“Good balance with quality writing,” the judges noted.

Jenny McClure and George Mitchell received a first-place award for best website.

Freelance writer Brittany Ransom received both the first- and second-place awards in the freelance writing category.

Ransom’s first-place award was for an article she wrote on the impact of the JROTC program at Van Buren High School.

“Learned a lot about JROTC programs I never knew before,” one judge wrote. “Breaks the stigma that military programs are tough and no-nonsense, which this article does a good job of pointing out.”

The second-place award was for Ransom’s story on the Van Buren School District Virtual Academy’s successful first semester.

“Writer takes extra leaps getting students’ input,” a judge noted.

Kevin Taylor received a second-place award for sports news story on the Van Buren High School Lady Pointers.

“It’s got a strong lead, and instead of just a route recap of the ball contest, we’re given a special insight into what happened off the court,” a judge wrote.

Twila King garnered a third-place award in single sports action photograph for her photo of Alma Royals’ Trenton Simon.

“Nice shot of a youth league player,” the judge wrote.