At the annual staff convocation on May 18. Alma School District named kindergarten teacher Erica Walters as 2018 district teacher of the year.

Walters was chosen by an outside panel from the four building level winners, who were Erin Mills of Alma High School, Tiffany Reeves of Alma Middle School, Dawn Stewart of Alma Intermediate School and Erica Walters of Alma Primary School.

Jim Fincher, president of the Alma Education and Arts Foundation, presented each building winner with a $200 check. The overall winner received an additional $500 check.

The building winners were asked to answer rather extensive writing prompts explaining their educational philosophy. They also went through an interview process with a panel of educators from outside the district.

State Rep. Charlotte Douglas gave an enthusiastic charge to the faculty as they ended the year. Many staff members were recognized for incremental years of service, and three retirees, Cora Beth Brown, Jan Miller and Joyce Dahlem, were honored.