The Alma City Council voted Jan. 25 to approve five new members of the city’s seven-member planning commission.

Prior to the start of the year, there was a six-person planning commission. Two of the commissioners are returning with three-year appointments by the council. Four of the prior commissioners opted to not submit their names for reapproval this year following a change in ordinance that shifted initial nomination rights from the mayor to the council.

The one-year term planning commissioners approved by the council are Chris Baker and Frank Griffen. The two-year term commissioners are Jason Kimes, Bob Martin and Steven Keady. The three-year term commissioners are Jason Reeves and Jerry Valentine.

Reeves and Valentine were part of the former six-person commission.

Two applicants to the commission were denied based on their close attachments with the school district and the commision already having two members who are school employees.