Crawford County Spelling Bee will be at the Van Buren Fine Arts Center on Saturday, Jan. 27, beginning at 9 a.m.

The annual event is sponsored by Generations Bank of Arkansas and the Van Buren School District.

Fifty-eight contestants from 15 area schools will compete in the qualifying bee for the Arkansas State Spelling Bee.

Generations Bank will provide T-shirts for all the contestants. The bank also presents the winner and first runner-up with a cash award. VBSD will provide participation trophies to the spellers and first and second place trophies.

Also, Generations Bank helps the family of the spelling bee winner with travel expenses to attend the state spelling bee in Conway.

Jennifer Prado, instructional facilitator and classroom teacher at Van Buren High School, serves as the coordinator for the Crawford County Spelling Bee. Jennifer Jennings Davis, executive director of Education Renewal Zone and STEM Education Center, will serve as announcer.

Judges will be Misty Christian, Mountainburg High School computer applications instructor; Missy Hefner, Van Buren High School English teacher; and Rhonda Jennings, a volunteer with Crawford County Volunteers for Literacy.

Contestants are:

Alma Intermediate School - Fourth graders Quinten Lato, Kiran Parrish and Sophia Floyd and fifth grader Cash Farris.

Alma Middle School - Sixth graders Madison Downs and Drake Stogsdill, seventh grader Adam Patton and eighth grader Lexi Chatman.

Butterfield Trail Middle School - Sixth graders Havah Weisenfels, Emilee Wear and Andrew Sackpraseuth and seventh grader Isabel Hernandez.

Cedarville Elementary School - Second grader Maddox Torres, third graders Dakota Kattich and Scarlett Stewart and fourth grader Bradley Keeter.

Central Elementary School - Third grader Talon Ray, fourth graders Elijah Wells and Landon Tobar and fifth grader Ethan Adkerson.

City Heights Elementary School - Fourth graders Scotti Erhart and Damian Henson and fifth graders Makaya Lavvorn and Randy Valezquez.

Tate Elementary School - Fourth grader Madison Meyer and fifth graders Matthew Hoffman and Kennedy Black.

King Elementary School - Third grader Sadie Hunter and fourth graders Addyson Moad, Jakob Boster and Fenix Thao.

Marvin Primary School - Third grader Dakota Williams and fourth graders Lilly Hayes, Jaxson Keeling and Nathan Mejia.

Mountainburg Elementary School - Third graders Ethan Sexton and Melody Lee and fourth graders Jewel Ramsey and Mitchell Moxley.

Mountainburg Middle School - Fifth grader Hailey Overbey, sixth graders Mason Pense and Jessica Reinschmiedt and eighth grader Laurel Hyman.

Northridge Middle School - Sixth grader Christian Woodward, seventh grader Allison Fesler and eighth graders Conner Brewer and Audrey Dahlem.

Parkview Elementary School - Fourth grader Collin Cummins and fifth graders Lillie Daws, Mattilyne Baker and Maeli Jones.

Pleasant View Junior High School - Fifth grader Alston Hill, sixth graders Kaydance Williams and Ashley Mayner and seventh grader Grace Hamilton.

Rena Elementary School - Third grader Sai Patel and fourth graders Koby Nance and Hayden Fontaine.