The Crawford County Courthouse and other county buildings will be closed Monday, Jan. 1, in observance of the New Year’s holiday, according to County Judge John Hall.

State offices in the county also will be closed Jan. 1.

Offices in the Van Buren Municipal Complex will close Friday as will Cedarville Water Works and city offices in Dyer, Kibler, Mulberry and Mountainburg. Alma offices will close at noon Friday, Dec. 29.

There will be no mail delivery Jan. 1. There will be no mail distribution to post office boxes and no mail will be collected from collection boxes. The bulk mail unit and administrative offices will be closed. Express Mail will be delivered. Customers may shop online at to purchase stamps, mail parcels and schedule carrier pickups.

Regular post office retail hours and full delivery operations will resume Jan. 2.

Most lending institutions will be closed Jan. 1. Van Buren Chamber of Commerce offices will be closed Jan. 1.

The Press Argus-Courier business office will close Jan. 1. The newsroom will be closed Jan. 1-2.

Libraries in Alma, Van Buren, Cedarville, Mountainburg and Mulberry will close Dec. 29 through Jan. 1.

Van Buren residential sanitation routes will not run on Jan. 1 and will be delayed one day throughout the week.