A new member has been elected to the Cedarville School District Board of Education.

Jerry Kennedy was elected to Position 3 on the Cedarville school board with 57 percent of the votes over his rival Jeff Clayborn in the 2017 school board election on Sept. 19. Kennedy received 81 votes to Clayborn’s 61 votes.

This will be the first full term for Kennedy, who was appointed to the board on May 2 to complete the remainder of Phillip Fears’ term. Fears moved out of the school district earlier this year.

Clayborn also was seeking his first term on the school board.

Cedarville was the only school district in Crawford County to have a contested seat.

In Alma, Carrie Jernigan was elected to complete the term of former board member Nancy Hawking, who resigned from the board for health reasons earlier this year.

Jernigan was appointed April 13 to fulfill the term, which has three years remaining.

Pat Whorton will hold the seat on the Alma School Board formerly held by Randy Coleman, who served his last day on the board on Tuesday.

Coleman, who has sat on the board for 26 years, since November 1991, did not file for re-election this year.

Incumbent Mike Higgins retained his seat on the Alma board.

On the Van Buren School Board, incumbents Christy Mayo and Theresa Bell retained their seats, as did Mulberry-Pleasant View Bi-County School Board incumbent Jeff Marvin.