Early voting for the 2017 school board election begins Tuesday, Sept. 12.

Early voting for school board seats will be Sept. 12-18 at the Crawford County Emergency Operations Center at 1820 Chestnut St. in Van Buren and at the Crawford County Clerk’s Office in the county courthouse during regular county office hours.

Only one school district in Crawford County will have a contested seat in election.

Jeff Clayborn and Jerry Kennedy have both filed for Position 3 on the Cedarville School Board, which is the only contested seat in the county. Filings for school board seats closed July 11.

If elected, this would be the first full term for Kennedy, who was appointed to the board on May 2 to complete the remainder of Phillip Fears’ term. Fears moved out of the school district earlier this year.

Clayborn also is seeking his first term on the school board.

There are no contested seats on the Alma School Board, but two positions likely will be held by new members.

Carrie Jernigan has filed to complete the term of former board member Nancy Hawking, who resigned from the board for health reasons earlier this year.

Jernigan was appointed April 13 to fulfill the term, which has three years remaining.

Board members who have been appointed to complete a term still must run in the school board election following appointment to fulfill the term if it extends beyond the end of the current year.

Pat Whorton has filed for a seat on the Alma School Board currently held by Randy Coleman. Whorton is a former Alma Middle School principal.

Coleman, who has sat on the board for 26 years since November 1991, did not file for reelection this year.

Incumbent Mike Higgins filed to retain his seat on the Alma board.

On the Van Buren School Board, incumbents Christy Mayo and Theresa Bell have filed to retain their seats, as did Mulberry-Pleasant View Bi-County School Board incumbent Jeff Marvin.

The 2017 school board election will be on Sept. 19.