Mountainburg School District recently recognized its school board members for their contribution to public education.

As part of School Board Member Recognition Month in January, Mountainburg joined districts across the state to celebrate and recognize its board members.

“Our board members assume a crucial role in representing our students and advocating for public education,” said Dennis Copeland, Moutainburg School District superintendent. “We are very proud of our members, and Arkansas School Board Recognition Month is a great time to recognize them and celebrate their accomplishments.”

More than 1,500 Arkansas school board members were honored in January for their service and dedication to public education, Copeland said.

Mountainburg School Board members are: Brett Peters, board president; Robin Willroth, vice president; Jason Watkins, secretary; Karen Walker; and Mike Moxley.

As publicly elected school leaders, Arkansas school board members set policy for their respective districts, Copeland said.

Under state law, board members are empowered to hire and evaluate the superintendent, oversee district finances, approve the budget, and determine the vision and mission of the district.

School boards also must approve the curriculum and ensure the district maintains adequate facilities for teaching and learning, Copeland said.

In addition to their board duties, state law requires school board members to earn a minimum of six hours of professional development each year in areas related to their role and responsibilities.