Two Crawford County law enforcement officers were honored this week by Arkansas Attorney General Leslie Rutledge at the 2016 Law Enforcement Summit in North Little Rock.

Alma Police Chief Russell White and Sgt. Daniel Perry with the Van Buren Police Department were both recognized during the event, which was held at Camp Robinson over several days.

Perry won the won the state’s “Top Cop” award for excellence in investigating metal thefts. He was presented with the award Tuesday. The Van Buren Police Department also received a $1,000 grant for new technology.

White was named the Crawford County outstanding law enforcement officer of the year by Rutledge during the annual awards and recognition luncheon on Wednesday.

White was one of 75 officers awarded for each Arkansas county, in addition to statewide and regional Outstanding Law Enforcement Officer of the Year awards. The awards go to college or university, municipal, county, federal or state law enforcement officers who “go the extra mile.

“It is an honor to recognize the outstanding law enforcement officers we have across Arkansas,” Rutledge said during the event. “These men and women show constant bravery by putting their lives on the line each and every day and going the extra mile, many times without the thanks they rightfully deserve. Our communities would not be as safe without the bravery of those who proudly wear blue.”

Law enforcement leaders from across Arkansas provide nominations for the designation.