Early voting for school board elections is going on now through Sept. 14 at the Crawford County Emergency Operations Center at 1820 Chestnut St. in Van Buren.

Because of higher than expected early voting turnouts because of two contested openings on the Van Buren School Board, early voting is being held at the EOC rather than the Crawford County Clerk’s Office.

Six people are vying for two Van Buren School Board positions to be decided in the Sept. 15 election.

July 7 at noon was the deadline for school board election filings, and both Position 6 and Position 7 up for election this year on the VBSB have three candidates hoping to win the seat.

Jeff Lambert, the incumbent for Position 6 and the current board president, has filed for re-election. Lambert is opposed by Mary Jo Weidman and J.R. McPhate.

Kevin Bell also has filed for re-election to his Position 7 seat, and will be up against Derald W. Porter and Dennis Pendergrass.

Mountainburg, Alma and Cedarville all have a Position 1 seat up for election this year.

Karen Patrick-Walker has filed for the Mountainburg seat, Nancy G. Hawking for the Alma seat and Robert L. Neal for the Cedarville seat. All are incumbents seeking reelection.

School board position terms are five years.

School board elections are Sept. 15 from 7:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.

Polling sites for the VBSD the day of the election are: VB 1-1, VB 2-1 and VB 3-2, Crawford County Emergency Operations Center; VB 1-2, Crawford County Extension Office; VB 1-3, Jasper and Dora, Rena Road Church of Christ; VB 2-2, Pleasant Valley Church of Christ; VB 3-1, Van Buren Public Library; VB 3-3, New Life Pentecostal Church of God; VB 3-4, City Heights Methodist Church; VB 3-5, Living Word Baptist Church; VB 3-6, St. Michael’s Catholic Church; VB 4-1, Figure Five and Oliver Springs, Hope’s Creek Retirement Center; Kibler, Kibler United Methodist Church.

Alma will have the Alma School District Administration Building open to voters the day of the election. Mountainburg and Cedarville have early and absentee voting only.