Van Buren placed a pair of runners in the top 20 at the Class 7A State Cross Country Meet held at Oaklawn Park in Hot Springs on Nov. 8.

Emilo Medina placed 11th overall in the men’s division while Madi Chitwood was 17th in the women’s division.

Medina completed the course in 16 minutes, 22 seconds. Chitwood finished with a time of 20:09.2.

Other runners for the men’s team included Clarke Henson (63rd, 18:15), Jose Cereceres (67, 18:42.9), Cordell Landon (68, 18:44.1), Travis Cooper (100, 19:33), Alex Webb (102, 19:35.1), Cameron Rush (108, 20:22.9), Parker Wilson (113, 20:36.5), and Tony Leon (115, 20:46.7).

Van Buren had six other runners in the women’s division including Kenna Slusher (54, 22:08.1), Daisy Connor (70, 22:55.8), Jordan Brodie (72, 23:07.5), Katie Barnwell (74, 23:11.5), Mallory Scherrey (82, 23:39.4), and Marisol Osorio (100, 26:44.8).

Van Buren finished ninth in the team standings in both divisions. Har-Ber’s TJ Sugg won the men’s event (15:17.8) with Rogers clinching four of the Top 10 finishes as the Mounties won the event with 34 points. Bentonville took second followed by Har-Ber.

Har-Ber’s Elise Reina won the women’s individual title (19:11.3). Bentonville won the Class 7A state title.

The Pointers finished fifth at the 7A Central meet. Medina was fifth overall and Henson was 10th. Chitwood placed sixth at conference meet.


The Airedales finished 10th in the Class 6A as Christian White finished 21st overall. Other Alma runners included Christian Vasquez (49, 19:29.2), Caleb Osman (66, 20:09.2), Audel Pina (68,20:23.5), Cooper McGhee (70, 20:28.5), Jake Westfall (74, 20:40.5), and Aaron Townsend (86, 21:46.2).

Rachel Ray had the highest finish for the Airedalettes as she took 29th (23:41.1). Alma didn’t have a full team, but Breanna Williams (35, 23:57) and Alora Perry (51, 25:21.7).

Mountain Home’s Lane Alexander earned medalist honors (16:15). Lake Hamilton defeated Siloam Springs by one point 55-56 to win the state title. Russellville was third.

Lake Hamilton’s Josie Carson won the event (19:28.2)

Siloam Springs was able to win the women’s state title by seven points (31-44). Greenwood was third and Russellville took fourth.

Group Picture: Front (from left) — Gabby Vatthanatham, Kenna Slusher, Katie Barnwell, Mallory Scherrey, and Marisol Osorio. Middle — Parker Wilson, Tony Leon, Alex Webb, Cordell Landon, Brandon Lee and Jose Cereceres. Front — Austin Riddle, Travis Cooper, Cameron Rush, Daisy Connor, Madi Chitwood, Jordan Brodie, Clarke Henson, Emilio Medina.