Filing for county and township offices will begin at noon Monday and end at noon March 3.

The Crawford County Election Commission’s office, located behind the Crawford County Courthouse in Van Buren, will be open from noon until 4:30 p.m. Monday.

Members of the local Republican and Democratic parties will be on hand to accept candidate filing fees and provide appropriate forms.

Members of those parties will be at the election commission office again March 3 from 8 a.m. until noon to assist local candidates in filing with their respective political parties.

Democratic candidates may file by contacting Crawford County Democratic Committee Chairman Bill Taylor at (479) 650-9955 from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday-Friday, Feb. 24-28.

Republican candidates may file at SPMI at 1701 Main St. from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Feb. 24-28. A member of the local Republican Party will be present to accept filing fees and provide appropriate forms.

Republican candidates wishing to file should contact Republican Party of Crawford County Chairman Mark Shaffer at (479) 414-3320 or email to They can also contact Secretary Dorothy Cox at (479) 259-5476 or by email at

Candidates may obtain filing information from the Crawford County Clerk’s office. For more information call the clerk’s office at (479) 474-1312.

After filing with the county Republican or Democratic party, candidates must provide written evidence of filing fee payment and additional paperwork to the county clerk before noon on March 3.

Candidates for state representative, state senate or state-wide office, or federal positions, should contact their state political party headquarters and file their forms with the secretary of state.

Candidates for judicial positions and prosecuting attorney also should contact the secretary of state’s office.