Van Buren had a pair of Top 5 finishers at Saturday’s Van Buren Cross Country Classic.

Sophomore Maddie Chitwood was fifth in the women’s Class 5A-7A division.

Tyler Jensen completed the 5k course in 17 minutes, 30.8 seconds to finish fifth. Emilio Medina was seventh (17:34.13).

Other Pointer finishers included Clark Henson (27th), Austin King (45th), Jose Cereceres (47th), Perry Alves (57th) and Caleb Faries (61st). Sean Volavong, Joshua Lopez and Jonathon King also participated.

Alma’s Christian White was 72nd followed by Tristan Ramsey (74th), Audel Pina (130) and Agustin Pina (137th).

Fayetteville’s Collin Pinkerton won medalist honors in the Class 5A-7A event and with the fastest time among all high school runners. Springdale won with four of the Top 10 runners with 46 points. Bentonville was second (69) and the rest of the schools were Fayetteville (72), McDonald County (117), Van Buren (122), Siloam Springs (130), Rogers (196), Huntsville (213) and Heritage (214).

In the Class 1A-4A portion, Elkins had six Top 15 finishers including three of the Top 4 to win the event. Michael Harris paced the division (17:54.27) and teammate Connor Daniel was second (18:30.43). Elkins (23) was followed by Waldron (44), Prairie Grove (78) and Gentry (84).

Cedarville had a couple of individuals competing with junior Tristan Beck finishing 10th (20:45.21)and senior Clark Bradford was 13th (20:58.04).


Fayetteville’s Carly Page, Amanda Agana and Brittany Burson provided a 1-2-3 punch in the Class 5A-7A division as the Bulldogs won.

Van Buren’s Logan Edwards was 30th, followed by Maria Valente (33rd), Mallory Scherrey (67th), Diana Abrajan (69th), Marla Burgos (71st), and Marisol Osorio (88th). Other runners for Van Buren were Nancy Corona, Frances Hernandez, and Catherine Artero.

Van Buren finished sixth while Alma was 10th.

Alma also competed as a team with Rachel Ray leading her team as she finished 88th. The rest of the team comprised of Alora Perry, Miraya Marciano, Alex McCoy, and Amanda Gonzalez.

Gentry’s Mallory Morris led the Class 1A-4A division to earn medalist honors, but Elkins won the event.