Deadine is Thursday to order tickets for the 59th annual Van Buren Chamber of Commerce banquet and reserve booths for the business fair.

The event chaired by Gailene Park and Joe Ryan will be held Thursday, June 12, at Van Buren High School. The business fair will be held 5 to 7 p.m. in the Fine Arts Center lobby area. The banquet will begin at 7 p.m. in the Commons Area.

Van Buren - A Bold Future is the theme the banquet which is highlighted by the announcement of the recipient of the Iverson Riggs Memorial Citizen of the Year Award.

"With business fair 2014, your business will be front and center at the largest gathering of Van Buren and Crawford County business and community leaders," said Lisa Huckelbury, chamber board president.

More than 400 people attended the event in 2013.

"The Van Buren School District Fine Arts Center grand lobby and the high school Commons Area entrances will provide a wonderful venue for business fair 2014," Huckelbury said. ?Businesses will have the opportunity to display products and services to hundreds of potential customers."

The Iverson Riggs award is given to an individual or individuals who has made exemplary contributions of time, talent or resources to the community, Huckelbury said.

Previous award recipients have been community leader Jim Petty (2013); Press Argus-Courier Editor Kenneth Fry (2012); community supporter Mary Blount (2011); educator Lonnie Myers (2010); community supporter/nurse, emergency medical professional Susan McCartt (2009); community supporter/educator Donna Parker (2008); philanthropists Richard and Helen Hodo (2007); library supporters Ed and Shirley Yeager (2006); community supporter Alan Swaim (2005); community supporter Fred Williams (2004); Van Buren Mayor John Riggs (2003); community volunteer Debbie Thomas (2002); community leader Cathy Gifford (2001); former State Sen. Morril Harriman (2000); realtor/developer Jimmy Bell (1999); businessman and school board member Dorvan Wiley (1998); former Van Buren Mayor Allen Ray Toothaker (1997); former retailer Susan King Skillen (1996); developer Dibrell Johnson (1995); retired optometrist Dr. Louis Peer (1994); Earl Robinson, founder of Robinson Real Estate (1993); Van Buren Advertising and Promotion Commission chairman Rusty Myers (1992); former Van Buren Mayor Gene Bell (1991); banker and businessman Raymond Allen (1990); longtime Van Buren Boys/Girls Club volunteer Jimmy Lansdell (1989); and retired Van Buren High School football coach Clair Bates (1988).

Tickets are $35 per person and can be ordered by, emailing Janie Simmons at or by calling (479) 474-2761.