Historic preservation grants totaling $51,268 has been awarded to two cities and one civic group in Crawford County.

Governor Mike Beebe announced Wednesday that the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, an agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage, has awarded $2,043,454 in grants for projects in 33 Arkansas counties, including Crawford County.

Grants were awarded through the County Courthouse Restoration Subgrant, Historic Preservation Revitalization Grant, Certified Local Government Subgrant and Main Street Downtown Revitalization Grant programs.

A $10,000 Historic Preservation Restoration Grant went to the City of Chester for electrical upgrades and window restoration at the 1942 Chester Masonic Lodge and Community Building.

The Van Buren Women’s Literary Club received a $35,268 HPRG for restoration work at the 1903 former First Presbyterian Church.

A $6,000 Certified Local Government Grant went to the City of Van Buren to provide training to local historic district commissions. A CLG grant also can be used to fund other local preservation projects.

Seventeen projects state-wide shared $562,199 in Historic Preservation Restoration Grants, which distribute funds raised through the Real Estate Transfer Tax to rehabilitate buildings listed on the Arkansas or National Registers of Historic Places and owned by local governments or not-for-profit organizations. Grant requests totaled $1,254,726.

Fourteen recipients shared $128,599 in grants through the AHPP’s Certified Local Government program, which is open to Arkansas cities and counties that contain a historic district commission and a historic district protected by a local ordinance, as well as to cities and counties that are seeking to join the CLG program.

At least 10 percent of the AHPP’s annual appropriation from the federal Historic Preservation Fund goes to CLG cities as grants for local projects. Grant requests totaled $172,655. There currently are 19 Arkansas cities in the CLG program.

For more information on the AHPP’s grant programs, call (501)324-9880, email at info@arkansaspreservation.org or visit www.arkansaspreservation.org.

Arkansas’ Historic Preservation Program is the agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center and the Historic Arkansas Museum.