Filing periods start this week and July 26 for school board and city elections.

Candidates filing to be on the ballot for school board elections must file at the office of Crawford County Clerk Teresa Armer during normal business hours from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. beginning July 1 until noon on July 8.

All five school districts will have seats up for election, Armer said, including those resigned positions that were filled by appointment.

Seats up for election are Position 5 in Mountainburg, Positions 5 and 6 in Alma, Zones 2 and 5 in Van Buren, Position 5 in Cedarville, and Positions 2, 5, 6 and 7 in Mulberry-Pleasant View.

School board elections are set for Sept. 16.

Candidates for city positions must file at the county clerk’s office during normal business hours from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. beginning July 25 until noon on Aug. 15.

For Van Buren and Alma, all elected city seats are up this year. That includes the mayor, city clerk, city attorney and all aldermen.

Van Buren and Alma are the only cities in Crawford County that have elected city attorneys.

In Cedarville, Dyer, Mountainburg and Mulberry, the mayor and all alderman positions are up for election. In Kibler, as well as the incorporated towns of Chester and Rudy, all positions including the mayor, city clerk and all aldermen seats are up.

Elections for municipalities are set during the Nov. 4 general election.

All candidates must file in person in the county clerk’s office by noon on the last day of their specified filing period.