Cpl. Roy Moomey, a seven year veteran of the Arkansas State Police Highway Patrol Division assigned to Troop H, has been awarded the department’s highest honor, Trooper of the Year for 2016.

The award was presented Thursday during the annual Arkansas State Police Honors and Award Luncheon Ceremony.

Moomey also was presented the department’s Lifesaving Award and Gold Shield. The Gold Shield Award is presented to troopers or civilian staff, who, under honorable conditions, suffers permanent disfigurement, permanent impairment of health, or extremely serious physical injury in the line of duty.

All of the awards presented to Moomey were based on his actions during the early morning hours of Aug. 8, 2016, in Crawford County when he responded to a call reporting a westbound vehicle on Interstate 40 traveling at a high rate of speed in the eastbound traffic lanes.

Moomey maneuvered his patrol car into the lane of the oncoming vehicle and in the final seconds before impact successfully prevented two vehicles and their occupants from being struck by the wrong-way driver.

The impact with the on-coming vehicle left Corporal Moomey critically injured. He was hospitalized for weeks while undergoing multiple surgical procedures. The 42 year-old trooper continues to undergo rehabilitation and every day says he wants to return to his job as a Highway Patrol Trooper on the highways of western Arkansas.

The department’s highest award for a civilian employee was presented to John Scarlett, a 10-year veteran staff employee, assigned to the Arkansas State Police Used Motor Vehicle Dealers Licensing Section.

Scarlett was recognized for his investigative work assisting Special Agents of the Arkansas State Police Criminal Investigation Division.

Ben Alstadt, a thirteen year veteran employee, assigned to the Arkansas State Police Information Technology Section, was a nominee for civilian of the year and presented a plaque in recognition for his work in the installation and upgrade of the department’s telecommunications landline system. His duties include operations within the Arkansas State Police data network systems and cyber security.

Other Troop H award winners were:

• Trooper Ben Ibarra, assigned to Highway Patrol Division, was recognized for his March 9, 2016, lifesaving measures given to a woman who had begun to choke on food inside an Ozark restaurant.

• Trooper First Class Derek Nietert, Highway Patrol Division, for his cumulative arrests involving drug trafficking and seizing 481 pounds of marijuana, 31 pounds of cocaine and more than $297,000 in assets to drug sales.

• Cpl. Michael Bowman, Highway Patrol Division, for his cumulative arrests involving drug trafficking and seizing more than 830 pounds of marijuana, more than 51 pounds of methamphetamine, more than 7 pounds of cocaine, nine pounds of heroin, and more than $300,000 in assets connected to drug traffickers.

• Trooper Josh Elmore, Highway Patrol Division, for 22 drug trafficking arrests that led to the seizure of 735 pounds of marijuana, and 2.5 pounds of methamphetamine.