Thea Foundation honored its 12th annual Scholarship Competition winners at an awards ceremony May 4 at the Thea Foundation.

This year was the first for the fashion design scholarship competition, bringing the total categories to six: Visual arts, performing arts, poetry slam, creative writing, fashion design and film.

During the 2014 scholarship competition, $80,000 was awarded, bringing the total scholarship money awarded by the Thea Foundation since 2002 to $2 million and the number of recipients to 245. Thea Foundation scholarships are rooted in the foundation’s philosophy that expression through the creative arts builds confidence, intelligence and character in youth, and artistic expression should be encouraged regardless of grades, test scores and career interests. With that in mind, Thea Foundation scholarships are awarded to students based solely on their talent; the scholarships are not dependent on any choice of major, grade point average or college choice. The scholarships are meant to encourage earnest young people and help them financially while they build their futures based on their own interests.

Competition winners from Crawford County included:

Performing arts

Alex Burris, third place, $3,000, Alma High School

Mykaela Sparks, ninth place, $2,000, Alma High School

Molly Tennison, honorable mention, Alma High School

Meghan Parker, honorable mention, Alma High School